– the 6th grade –

IMG_6697
It’s been a big week around these parts.  Lots of house projects getting checked off:  new basement carpet, check!  Audra’s built-in bed built & installed (not painted yet), check!  So that feels good.  But much, much more important than that, we have our first elementary school graduate.  Conner has finished that chapter in his life and I have to say I am beyond impressed with him!!  Seriously that kid is amazing and has accomplished so much, so well!

He was asked to be the first of 3 speakers at his graduation program and he did a fabulous job.  I relinquished control and didn’t help him with his speech (so hard for me to do, but better for both of us) and it was great what he came up with.  As I sat there during his program watching movies of this past year and hearing students and teachers talk, I couldn’t help but get a little emotional.  I think this achievement sort of snuck up on me and once I stopped and realized how awesome Conner is and how far he’s come I was happy and sad all at the same time.  Since he’s the first kiddo we get to travel these road together and I guess I get a little emotionally invested.  I’m excited for the new chapter in his life (and of course nervous 🙂 ).
At the beginning of this year we weren’t sure how it was going to turn out.  Being in the Spectrum program was a new thing and he was the only new student to the 6th grade class so we were all a little nervous.  It turned out W.A.Y. better than we could have ever imagined.

The last day of school was the perfect end to Conner’s elementary education.  At 12:45 I happened to walk past our mudroom and saw his lunchbox still sitting there.  Not 30 seconds later the phone rang.  Guess who?  I wasn’t about to bring him his lunch since school was being dismissed in 45 minutes.  It had me cracking up because that is Conner.  He is a great, smart, sweet kid with so many talents but being organized and keeping track of stuff is not one of them.  I can’t begin to count the number of times I have had to take Conner something or he has left something at school (as luck would have it, he happened to leave his spare lunchbox and ice pack at his school on the 2nd to last day of school and it’s still there–).  It was the perfect ending to his 7 year career!

Like I said, Conner is a very sweet and sensitive boy.  When he walked in the door from his last day I could tell he’d been crying and asked him about it.  Sweet boy was sad that this year was over and that he wouldn’t be going to school with most of his friends.  It’s a big change, but I know he’ll make friends and have a great time in junior high.
IMG_6665

Leave a Reply

