– sickness –

As was mentioned  in my last post, for our big anniversary celebration we had plans to spend an entire day kidless.  We had big plans:  take Conner to the temple for the first time, work in the yard if it wasn’t raining, do some shopping, finish a few projects around the house and then we were scheduled to attend a French cooking class that night.  The day before Audra’s eye turned pink and started gooping.  I knew we were in trouble, but immediately started the same regimen I’d used on Logan a few weeks before.  I hoped that if we had 24 hours of drops under our belts it would start to clear up.  That night as I was out running errands I got the dreaded text from Dave:  “and now it’s in both eyes.”  We knew our day was most likely shot…. turned out that was the least of our concerns as Dave and Conner both woke up with the stomach flu.
Yep, the Dave & Amber day of fun was officially cancelled!  We rescheduled the cooking class for the following week and arranged to once again attempt to have our kidless day.  Throughout the course of the week, Logan missed 2 days of school for stomach pains and a cold.  I started to get a sore throat and then a cough set in but I really felt fine and like this little “cold” would pass.  Oh boy was I wrong.  I woke up on the big morning (after being up most of the night coughing and unable to sleep) and willed myself to shower and get going.  It was taking everything I had just to stand up.  Dave dropped the kids off and then came home, took one look at me and told me to go to bed — round two of our big day cancelled.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt so overall awful.  Every bone in my body hurt, I was hot, then cold, then hot and just all around was miserable.  3 days later of feeling the same way I finally took myself to InstaCare.  Diagnosis?  Bronchitis.  Remedy?  Nothing, just deal for the next 3-4 weeks.  Sounds fun to me.

So, we’re beginning to think this whole kidless day is just not in the cards and we are super nervous to reschedule the cooking class — it seems to be bad luck.  On a happier note, it seems everyone has been sick so we should be done for awhile!!
I guess after 17 years of marriage and 4 kids, life is just more unpredictable and all we can really do is be bugged for 1 second and then laugh.
The most amazing thing did come out of this awful, awful week:  after being unable to figure out what Logan’s stomach pains were all about I finally took him to our usual Naturopath/Kinesiologist/Acupuncturist.  She also couldn’t figure it out but thought some acupuncture would at least get things moving.  I was so, so impressed with Logan.  He didn’t even flinch and laid perfectly still for the duration.  Turns out it was worth it; no more stomach pains.
IMG_6629

Leave a Reply

