« spiritual high «

Two weeks ago I  was dreading today.
Two weeks ago I was asked to speak in Sacrament Meeting.
For the last two weeks I have been stressed, calm, worried, excited about my studying, stressed again and then relieved.
I can honestly say that I have never felt this calm about speaking in church, I know this is because I have spent a lot of time preparing and in prayer asking for guidance and inspiration.  I know that what I have prepared is what Heavenly Father wants me to say and what I know to be true.
My topic was virtue, based off of Sister Elaine Dalton’s 2008 conference talk “A Return to Virtue.”
I found a great Cherokee parable that I wanted to share as a spiritual thought for the day:

“An elder Cherokee Native American was teaching his grandchildren about life.  He said to them, ‘A fight is going on inside me. It is a terrible fight, and it is between two wolves. One wolf represents fear, anger, guilt, resentment, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, inferiority, pride, lies, and superiority. The other wolf stands for joy, peace, love, hope, sharing, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, friendship, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. This same fight is going on within you and every other person too.’

 They thought about it for a minute and then one child asked his grandfather, ‘Which wolf will win?’

 The Old Cherokee simply replied, ‘The one I feed.’” 

{this post was written and posted prior to my talk, but I’m absolutely positive that at this moment I am a very happy camper  and glad to be DONE}

Leave a Reply

