« the new year «

Not only were we busy remodeling the house over our little “christmas break,” we were busy being sick and taking care of sicklies.  Everyone has had something in the last few weeks and it’s been so fun :-).  Hoping we’re on the mend now.

So even though we were all pretty worn out we had to do something to commemorate the NEW year.  Interestingly enough, I’ve heard most people say that 2013 was not a good year for them and they were beyond excited to leave it behind.  2013 was just another year in my book, but (as silly as this sounds) I never liked the sound of it, so I’m all about it being 2014!

My aunt and uncle recently moved from Illinois and built their dream house in Peterson, UT.  The house is finally done, so they invited us up on New Year’s Day for a bonfire and sledding.  It was a gorgeous day and they are up and out of the gross inversion which was so nice.  The kids had a blast sledding – they didn’t want to leave.  I’m glad we got out of the house and enjoyed celebrating with family!!

And since I am a Winter-hater :-), I didn’t even get a picture of the kids sledding.  I stayed inside the gorgeous, warm house.
new yearsAnd now that we are a week into 2014, it’s been so nice to have the kids back in school and be on a schedule. I wished their break was longer, but do enjoy the regular schedule.  I miss Dave – so fun to have him here all the time for so long.  And Conner has started a new adventure:  ski school!  He goes every Friday for a month.  I don’t know why, but I was so nervous sending him for the first time last week.  I mean I was leaving my adorable 10 year old son with perfect strangers so they could transport him to and from Brighton and teach him to ski.  Turns out I had nothing to be worried about, he absolutely LOVED it!!  He can’t wait for this week.  He may be the first McNamee skiier (ok, I can ski but just don’t enjoy it).
And in other exciting news:  Audra is {finally} in Primary!  She’s a February birthday so she’s been ready for Primary for a year now! It was nice having her in Nursery with Eli, who is less than willing to attend, but we have loved seeing her growing up and so excited to go with the big kids!
Here’s to an incredible 2014!

Leave a Reply

