• summer started •

IMG_1665-1
One week ago, today, Summer officially started.  Everyone in our house was aware, because Dave and I may have been delirious from weeks of hard work and stress, and two nights of little sleep so we were found singing aloud about the beginning of Summer.

We weren’t the only ones who were excited about Youth Conference being over.  While we were gone, Conner told my dad that he couldn’t wait for July . . . . he thought for a minute and then said really he couldn’t wait for Youth Conference to be over.  Yes, everyone in our house was ready for the completion of the big Youth Conference.

So now the big question:  how was it?????

To sum up:  HOT!!! but it couldn’t have possibly gone any better!

It’s taken me about a week to digest it all and now I have a fresh perspective.  Of course I enjoyed (sort of) being there, but now I can really look back on it.  And without sounding prideful, I am SO pleased with what we planned and how it all worked out.  I give very little credit to Dave and I and our committee.  Like I told the youth, Heavenly Father wanted these experiences for them and put the people we needed to make it possible in our lives.  It definitely was a group effort.  From the folks we had on our committee, to the Bishopric, to the youth leaders, to my amazing family for being VERY available.  I didn’t even have a minute to think about my kids, so it was very comforting to know they were in capable hands.

To longer summarize:

The big event started Thursday at noon.  We met at the church and then the youth, their leaders and the bishopric headed off to float the Weber River.  That would not have been possible without A LOT (cannot emphasize that enough and it just shows what an awesome ward we have) of help.  They all loved it and it proved to be the perfect thing for an extremely hot (95 degree) day.  Believe me, I’m very aware of the heat as myself and another couple headed to the campsite to begin setting up tents.  It was 3 very miserable hours!  Once the youth arrived they were very helpful in getting the rest of camp set-up.  After dinner, we were privileged to have my dad come and speak.  It was outstanding!!!  And I’m not biased at all.  He really is a talented and engaging speaker, plus he is just fun so the youth love him as well.

Friday the youth split into two groups.  One did the ropes course, which consisted of many events 70-80 feet off the ground.  They were all harnessed in so there was no danger, but it was still enough for me JUST to watch.  The other half went and did the Power Pole —- which involved climbing a 25 foot pole, climbing up on top of the wobbling, spinning top and then jumping off attempting to reach a trapeze.  I got to watch several youth do this and I remember my own time doing that event at their same age.  It was the scariest thing I have ever done, but the sense of accomplishment is one I will never forget.  I could see a similar thing happening for several of them which was a.w.e.s.o.m.e!!
That night we ended our weekend with a spiritual experience.  It was our Hold to the Rod activity and it was well worth all of the stress and time it took to pull it off.  This activity allowed each of the youth to experience Lehi’s dream by being blindfolded and told to hold to the rod.  Along the way, they were tempted and also reminded of who they are.  They had the choice to hold on, or let go –  it was incredible.  Definitely the best way we could have wrapped up our theme of “Got Roots.” Which focused on strengthening their roots in all aspects of their lives.

I feel like I could keep going, like I have so much to say.  I guess this 3 days with the youth of our ward has become one of my babies.  I think when you spend so much time in prayer and constant thought, it becomes part of you.  Am I thankful for this experience??? Hmmmm….I don’t know if I’m that far removed from it, but what I am thankful for is the reminder of how aware Heavenly Father is of us.  He knows each and every one of us and he knows what we are in need of.  He knows the best way to solve our problems.  He wants us to grow and learn and to serve His children.  I guess I’m grateful for the opportunity to serve, but am definitely ready to go back to my day job.

Let the Summer begin!!!

I haven’t taken the time to get all the pictures from our bishop, but this is a pretty great summary
yc collage

One thought on “• summer started •

  1. I am glad you survived and that you can now enjoy your summer. We helped with our stake Youth Conference last summer, and I was in awe of the leaders in charge of it. I can’t even imagine having that task. So good job.

Leave a Reply

