one of those people

My name is Amber, I’m 35 years old, and I’m “one of those people.”

....and one of those people who unbuckles, turns around, and climbs in the backseat on 4 hour car trips ....

and one of those people who unbuckles, turns around, and climbs in the backseat on 4 hour car trips

One of those people who goes out in public without makeup or matching clothes because an opportunity presented itself and I take full advantage of it.

One of those people who has fingerprints all over her house.  I shuddered as I realized the inside of the front door was covered.

One of those people who feeds her kids chicken nuggets and hot dogs because it’s easy and hey it’s protein.

One of those people who has kids who scream in a store, or make some embarrassing comment.

One of those people who cares about home decor, but instead decorates with toys and other children necessities.

One of those people who forgets anything if it’s not written down.

One of those people whose children go out in public wearing superhero costumes.

One of those people who checks to make sure the phone didn’t accidentally get turned on before strongly voicing (yelling) at the children.

One of those people who no longer cleans on a regular basis, but when a cotton ball spiderweb is discovered, or when the toilet couldn’t get any pinker, or when the sticky becomes noticeable, or when the kids have started writing in the dust.

One of those people who doesn’t shop around for a value, but just buys it cause it’s available and I’m out.

One of those people who has piles of stuff to be done and to be put away all over the house.

One of those people with a TO DO list that is only growing, not shrinking.

One of those people who wants to care about the details, but just can’t find the energy anymore.

Never in my life did I think I would become one of those people.  I think I always assumed I’d be able to keep it all together.  The reality I envisioned included a clean and organized house, well-behaved and well-dressed children, making cute things for friends and neighbors, always going and doing.  My actual reality is being “one of those people” which turns out is  normal, and that means I’m not alone. I find a lot of solace in that . . .

Because being one of those people means I play Mario Galaxy with my kids, I make treats with them, I tickle them, feed them, take them where they need to be, I have fun picking out clothes for them rather than me, I study how to be a better mom to each and every one of them, I serve them, and I look forward to watching them through every phase of their life.

One thought on “one of those people

  1. love this! i am one of “those” people, so much more than you. so welcome to the club! i’m glad you’re joining cause your craftiness and cleanliness makes me look bad 😉

Leave a Reply

