[ the world (or our country) today ]

Last night I had an appointment that went late enough that I missed dinner with the family.
When I arrived home, baths and and bedtime were in full swing.  Once everyone was down, I decided to whip up one of my new favorite breakfasts:  baked oatmeal.  I figured I could have some for dinner and then for breakfast today.
By the time it was done, I sat down to eat around 9:00.  I’ve made this recipe dozens of times and love it every time.
As I sat there eating it last night watching the election coverage on TV, it suddenly didn’t taste so good . . . .
this morning I don’t feel quite right and it’s NOT because of the oatmeal 😦 …..

PS, you really should try the recipe:
Blueberry Baked Oatmeal
1/4 cup melted butter (lately I’ve just been using 3TBS. coconut oil)
1/4 cup honey
2 eggs, beaten (I’ve been using my good old powdered eggs from our food storage)
3 cups old fashioned oats
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2  cups milk (I used almond milk)
3/4 cup fresh blueberries

In a large bowl,  whisk  together honey and eggs.  Add a little of the melted butter to the egg mixture to temper it and whisk.  Then add the remaining butter and whisk.
Add in the oats, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, vanilla and milk.  Stir until well combined and then fold in blueberries.
Spray an 8 x 8 baking dish with non stick cooking spray.  Pour the oatmeal mixture into the dish and spread evenly.   Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown.  May be served with milk and more fruit on top and even a little sprinkle of brown sugar!

Leave a Reply

