. getting tired .

My dad forwarded this in an email to me.  He actually sent it awhile ago, but I just got around to opening it and reading it.  TOTALLY appropriate for today.  Just found out that the offer we have been waiting on & promised was coming for 3 weeks will not be coming.  The company was affected by the Japan earthquake and has put a freeze on hiring (would have been nice to know 3 weeks ago).  We have one offer on the table.  They want us to move.  We are currently waiting to hear back from them on where they would like us to go and what the salary would work out to. LOTS of waiting and LOTS of unknowns.  It felt like things were going pretty good for a minute and now we have had a setback.  My new mantra:  faith, FAITH, faith!!!  But this thought did help.

In  the interview by Paul Bradshaw with Rick Warren, Rick  said:   
People  ask me, What is the purpose of  life?   
And  I respond: In a nutshell, life is preparation for  eternity. We were not made to last forever, and God  wants us to be with Him in  Heaven.   
One  day my heart is going to stop, and that will be the end  of my body– but not the end of  me.   
I  may live 60 to 100 years on earth, but I am going to  spend trillions of years in eternity. This is the  warm-up act – the dress rehearsal. God wants us to  practice on earth what we will do forever in  eternity. 
We  were made by God and for God, and until you figure that  out, life isn’t going to make  sense.   
Life  is a series of problems: Either you are in one now,  you’re just coming out of one, or you’re getting ready  to go into another  one.   
The  reason for this is that God is more interested in your  character than your comfort; God is more interested in  making your life holy than He is in making your life  happy.   
We  can be reasonably happy here on earth, but that’s not  the goal of life. The goal is to grow in character, in  Christ likeness.   

No  matter how good things are in your life, there is always  something bad that needs to be worked  on.   
And  no matter how bad things are in your life, there is  always something good you can thank God  for.
You  can focus on your purposes, or you can focus on your  problems.
If  you focus on your problems, you’re going into  self-centeredness, which is my problem, my issues, my  pain.’ But one of the easiest ways to get rid of pain is  to get your focus off yourself and onto God and  others.   

When  I get up in the morning, I sit on the side of my bed and  say, God, if I don’t get anything else done today, I  want to know You more and love You better. God didn’t  put me on earth just to fulfill a to-do list. He’s more  interested in what I am than what I  do.   

That’s  why we’re called human beings, not human  doings.

2 thoughts on “. getting tired .

  1. Oh rats! I’m sorry to hear about the Orem job. Huge bummer! But I loved this post and the reminder to focus on the important stuff and try to appreciate the journey 😉

  2. Thanks, Amber, for posting something that I needed to read today. It really puts things in perspective, whether you are in the middle of “the good life” right now or facing challenges.

    Sorry that the job you were waiting for is not going to happen. Thankfully, you have the other job offer and we pray that you will have direction and guidance from the Lord on that one.

    We can tell you from personal experience, while it is hard to have all our family living away from us, we rejoice that they are loving where they are, they are taking advantage of all the opportunities for growth- including new friends, new Wards, and many missionary opportunities- and that they are helping to build the Kingdom of God wherever they are. Hopefully, their positive experiences can give you some perspective, as well.

Leave a Reply

