. a day to remember .

Today one year ago I was blessed with the most beautiful, amazing daughter.  Her delivery did not go as I expected, but I think my mind had a lot to do with that.  I honestly think I let my fears of delivering another baby get in the way of allowing my body to do what it knows how to do on its own.  But, that’s a story for another day :-)!

Let’s pick up where our story left off . . . That morning Dave and I woke early.  I attempted to eat a piece of toast, but really couldn’t.  We made the 20 minute drive to the hospital.  The day was kind of overcast and there were a few light snowflakes fluttering.  We arrived at the hospital and checked in, which was a strange phenomenon because Dave and I were together rather than me being in labor and him filling out all the paperwork.  We headed to our room and were told that I was the only woman delivering that day (that they knew of) but that the day before had been super busy.  Another reason we were glad we had waited an additional day.  They hooked me up the pitocin.  I asked them to start it lower than normal because I really wanted to see if it would just kick my body into labor and then we could pull the pitocin plug.  Dave and I walked & walked & walked the hallways.  Throughout the course of the day, they continued to increase the pitocin.  Finally around 2:00 or 3:00, it started.  Oh boy did it start!  Having delivered two other babies unmedicated, I could definitely tell these contractions were different.  Luckily it didn’t last too long and I had the support of Dave, my mom and my awesome doula.  My mother-in-law and sister-in-law were able to be there for the actual delivery and I was SO glad to have Audra out and know she was okay at just before 5:00pm.

I remember she came out with one hand on her cheek (I think it was the left hand) and she was SO alert and reverent.  Her eyes were wide open just taking it all in.  She was gorgeous and peaceful.  I was glad the delivery was over and was excited to get to know her.

Audra has continued to be a light in our lives and family.  She has the best disposition and personality.  She is happy to sit and play with her toys and can scoot on her bum if she wants to get somewhere else (slowly).  She loves to turn pages in books and shriek if someone takes something from her.  She can tell us bye-bye, say daddy, mama, and baba, no-no.  She waves Hi & Bye.  She loves doing peek-a-boo, even if she covers the sides of her head instead of her face.  She is learning how to blow and is amazingly flexible.  We all love her to pieces and look forward to many more “pink” birthdays to come!

One thought on “. a day to remember .

  1. Happy Birthday beautiful baby! I can tell she is such a bright spot in your life. I had forgotten when her birthday is–right in between Allison’s on the 17th and Gideon’s on the 19th. Yep, it’s our birthday week over here. Have fun celebrating!

Leave a Reply

