{very weird}

I thought about posting the details from our FUN, FUN trip to Island Park, but it just doesn’t seem relevant right now.

There are few stranger things than spending the day wondering and waiting to find out if your mom has cancer!  I never thought I would have to put that word in the same sentence as someone I love!  But, this is where we’re at.

Mom has been sick for just about 2 years (can you imagine being sick for that long?  I complain about all this morning sickness, but it will pass and certainly is not life-threatening) and it has been guessing game after guessing game to attempt to diagnose her condition.  About 6 months ago, we thought we had figured it out.  Many of her original symptoms had disappeared and she was getting strong again; we were so excited – as was she to be on the mend!!  And then she took a turn for the worse and started developing even worse symptoms…….it has not been fun to watch her suffer!

We were all very hopeful that after the BIG biopsy today we would know immediately!  The mystery continues!  It is possible she still has lymphoma just in the cells that are trickier to diagnose; also possible she has another lymphatic disease.  Either way sounds like the treatment would be chemo.  We should know more in a day or two.  They were able to drain 1 1/2 liters of fluid from her lungs so now she should be able to breath.

Dad is very, very stressed and while talking to him we could tell he was not all the way there.  He had just been let into ICU to see her and the details he was giving were hard to follow, but I think we got the basic story.  Hopefully we’ll be able to go visit her tomorrow!  For now, we wait…….as we have for so many months now!

9 thoughts on “{very weird}

  1. Amber,
    Thanks so much for today’s update. Waiting is soooo hard. Your mom and dad and all your family have been uppermost in our thoughts and prayers today. We are so thankful that your parents’ neighbor was able to expedite the process so that there can be (hopefully) a definitive diagnosis and then a decision on the best course for your mom. We love you all and hope that you will keep us updated.

  2. I was just sitting here crying and feeling sorry for myself because I was turned down for a job after 3 interviews and then I read this and it really puts life into perspective. I’m so sorry to hear your mom isn’t feeling well – I will definitely keep your family in my thoughts.

  3. Thanks for letting us know what’s going on. My mom has been good about filling us in so we are praying for and thinking a lot about your family. This must be such a hard time for all of you. I hope they find some answers soon!

  4. Wow Amber I am so sorry. I had no idea that your mom was getting worse. I can’t even imagine what you are feeling right now. I will keep your family in my prayers. I hope that things get better for your mom. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help you right now.

  5. We too are praying for your family. We love Kris and are so sorry that she has been so ill. Grandpa called to tell us about it. When we didn’t hear anything last night, we figured that there was no definite diagnosis. Wish we were closer so we could help. Please know that you are all in our prayers.

  6. Hey Amber…know that your family is in my prayers. I can appreciate how hard it is to watch family struggle with their health and know that a lot of the time it just plain stinks! Let me know if you need anything…especially if it involves hanging out, talking/venting. Hang in there!

  7. Amber, I am so sorry your mom and family are going through this painful ordeal. I just love your mom and she has always been such a beautiful, sweet aunt to me! It breaks my heart to know that she is going through such misery. Our family’s prayers are also with your family during this very difficult time.

Leave a Reply

