* Here We Go *


It is the end of an era for me. I have been the Ward Newsletter Editor (my dream calling) for the last 2 1/2 years or so. I also have been a 2nd Sunday Relief Society teacher for slightly longer than that. About 2 months ago I was released from teaching Relief Society, which I was very grateful for. Just last week I had the awful thought (never do this) that I was feeling really good about my calling and enjoying it. Saturday afternoon brought a phone call from a member of the Bishopric (I considered not answering, but knew the calls would continue). About half hour later I had been released from my calling and was asked to serve in the Young Women as the Laurel Advisor. We got a new Presidency last week, and honestly all week long I had a hunch that something was about to change.

I know that this age, 16-18, is a very crazy, important, hard, and exciting time in a girls life. When I was a Laurel, my mom was my advisor which was so great! I remember so many of the other girls (myself included) really looking up to my mom and wanting to learn from her. I want to be that for my Laurels. I want them to feel comfortable around me, but more importantly I want them to know that I love them and they are Daughters of a Heavenly Father who loves them. It’s going to be tough, but fun all at the same time.

The other reason I am especially excited for this new calling, is because our new YW President is an amazing woman and a very dear friend of mine. It will definitely be more work, but I can’t wait to get to know our 13 Laurels! Plus I get to go to Girls Camp – one of my favorite places to be.

If anyone has any great activities, lessons, or ideas PLEASE feel free to share. I think activities that have been tried by others are the best kind. I will return the favor and star blogging ideas once we get going.

8 thoughts on “* Here We Go *

  1. Am, I think that is awesome! I was the Laurels Advison in our last ward and am currently the Beehive’s advisor. I LOVED working with the Laurels and am loving being with the Beehives too! I am really excited for you! If you have a specific topic you would like lesson ideas on, let me know. I would be happy to share what I have done (including handouts, etc.)
    Hugs! Good luck!

  2. Wow what a great and challenging calling. Hum I always think how I absolutly love my calling and think it is perfect for me. I hope I don’t ruin that. Hey good luck…I wish I had suggestions but I have yet to be in that calling.

  3. You’ll do great cuz you are not as much worried about impressing the girls or impressing other YW leaders as you are worried about serving the girls.

  4. Holy sweet mercy you are laurel advisor! That is pretty cool but crazy to me that you could be an advisor since I feel like I was just a laurel.. I feel like I know nothing of my family’s life anymore. Thank heavens for blogs

  5. Amber, you will be great! The Laurel age group is so important! It is an age of decisions and learning new skills. I know that we appreciated all our girls’ leaders. I have a post on my blog today – it would have to be done right away or wait until next year. It is for a “dreaming pillowcase” for Christmas. They are easy to make and teach the girls’ basic sewing skills. You might look at it. Aunt B.

  6. Word to ya mutha!
    I loved your mom! When I was in my wards YW Presidency I always thought of how your mom did it. And since you are JUST like her… you’ll be a natural.

  7. You will be a wonderful advisor for the young women. When your mom was my teacher I learned and cherished every bit of information that she taught us. You will do great.

Leave a Reply

